May Notes

As we look forward to the warming of Spring in May, it is all but filled with a lot of activity and important events. Weather wise, we’ve seen tornados in Oklahoma and flash floods in Texas. Globally, we see the devastation of earthquakes in Nepal and earthquakes in Japan.

tornado1However, we want to draw your attention to some important training that will help you as serve your communities in disaster events. We hope you will take advantage of these opportunities shared with us by our members and partners.

Points of Light is offering two free online opportunities to help your organizations, agencies, and volunteers better prepare themselves to respond to disasters of any size.

  • Management of Spontaneous, Unaffiliated Volunteers Training
    In partnership with Volunteer Florida
    May 29, 2015, 2:00-4:00 p.m. ET                                                                                               
    To register go to https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2115062714599927041
  • Operation Volunteer Placement: A Volunteer Reception Center Exercise
    June 16, 2015.                                                                                                                             For additional information and to register, visit: www.drc-group.com/project/vrc.html

Coming up fairly soon on May 14, 2015 is a series of webinar provided by the
ADA National Network/FEMA Webinar Series through the Pacific ADA Center Emergency Management and Preparedness-Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities ada

Webinar Series: “FEMA Promising Practices: Closing Gaps in Local Emergency Plans and Grassroots Emergency Planning”

Times: 2.30 p.m. ET/1.30 p.m. CT/12.30 p.m. MT/11.30 a.m. PT/9.80 a.m. Hawaii

Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php

Last but not least, check out the various topics represented at the:

2015 Disaster Behavioral Health Conference

Footprint of Disasters: Retracing Our Steps

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Earle Brown Heritage Center

8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

       Registration fee April 16 – May 22: $75.00

Late Registration fee May 23 – May 28: $85.00

Register on line – easy process for group or individual: http://www.metrohealthready.org/training/footprint2015/

For detailed information on all of these opportunities, please go to TRAINING.

 

This entry was posted in News, Stickies. Bookmark the permalink.